OAT Success! 

Hello Everyone!

I just wanted to send out a bit of a personal update tonight. I took my OAT this morning and did much better than I expected to. I am humbled by the amazing number of people who texted me, sent me encouragement on Facebook, and lifted me up in prayer. It’s so great to have the test over with and to feel good about my score. 

That being said, here’s how I studied and what I would recommend. First of all I would like to remind you that there’s no one recipe for success. Each person is coming at the OAT with different background knowledge, strengths, weaknesses, and learning styles. Find what works for YOU! I used some of the Kaplan resources and some of the Princeton Review resources. If you are a student who struggles a lot or who has a lot of test anxiety, then I think the online resources are the way to go. They are more interactive and since the real test is taken on a computer it prepares you for that experience a little better. Keep in mind though that these resources are very expensive. If you are a really strong student I don’t really think they’re worth the investment unless you can share with someone else. I found that the Kaplan flash cards were an excellent tool. I could have my friends and family quiz me every now and then and it helped break up the monotony of reading through countless reviews of information. The Princeton Review book came with some online Quick Reviews that were really helpful too. 

Kaplan offers free practice tests and OAT bootcamps throughout the year too. Those are a great way to gauge where you’re at and learn a few tricks for free if money is tight. You can find all of the information for those at Kaptest.com.

One more small thing I did was buy a small dry erase board to practice on. I used that because on test day they give you marker boards instead of scratch paper and a pencil. 

If any of you have questions on studying or OAT prep feel free to contact me or let me know in the comments!
Thanks for reading!

JB

  

Leave a Reply

